Skip to content


Search Results

Singbronze! (Vocal Score)

The Go for Bronze level of NYCoS musicianship training introduces the notes of the pentatonic scale, with simple rhythms and expression marks.

NYCoS celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2006 by commissioning new songs for young people that reflected a structured progressive musicianship programme. Having learnt basic concepts, ideally young singers could use what they know to read these songs themselves, identifying what is on the page using the knowledge they have.

The NYCoS musicianship training programme is based on the work of Hungarian composer and music educationalist Zoltan Kodály, who identified a process of learning by three stages: subconscious, conscious and reinforcement. Simply put, musical concepts are introduced subconsciously through games, then consciously by a teacher or choir leader. Our wish with these books is to provide material for the third part of this process - to help reinforce the concepts.

Ten composers, either Scottish or working in Scotland were asked to write three songs, one each for SingBronze, SingSilver and SingGold.

  • Little Morag (Sally Beamish)
  • Where the Green Grass Grows (Martin Dalby)
  • My Teacher Must be an Alien (Tommy Fowler)
  • Bonie Wee Thing (Ken Johnston)
  • Rainstick (Eddie McGuire)
  • The Sleeper (Alasdair Nicolson)
  • Life of Adventure (Sheena Phillps)
  • Catkins (Oliver Iredale Searle)
  • The Finn Woman (Savourna Stevenson)
  • The Twa Mice (William Sweeny)

Vocal and piano parts included.

Part of the Singbronze, Singsilver, Singgold series.

In Stock